FG rolls out swearing in date for ministers


The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha on Tuesday rolled out timetable for the swearing in of the new ministers into the cabinet of President Muhammadu Buhari.
Mustapha categorically said the new ministers will on Wednesday, August 21, take oath of office as substantive Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
An earlier statement by the Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office, Babatunde Lawal, had announced a two-day induction for the new ministers to hold on August 19 and 20. The retreat was earlier scheduled for August 15 and 16.
The new ministers will then be inaugurated on August 21.
The secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, had on August 2 invited the ministers-designate to pick up relevant documents for their study and guidance, preparatory to the inauguration of the Cabinet.
The documents include Status Report on Policies, Programmes and Projects; the 2019-2023 Road Map, FEC Handbook, among others.
Mr Mustapha had also requested the new ministers to submit to his office their updated curriculum vitae in soft and hard copies as well as any valid identification document.
Among the appointees are former Akwa Ibom State governor, Godswill Akpabio; senior lawyer, Festus Keyamo; ex-Benue governor, George Akume; and 40 other nominees.
The president also retained Babatunde Fashola, Chris Ngige and a few other returnee ministers.
The appointments were made across the six geopolitical zones.
The nominees have since been cleared by the Senate


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here