Confusion as Bauchi Assembly elects two Speakers


The leadership crisis rocking the Bauchi State House of Assembly took a new twist on Thursday morning following the emergence of two Speakers in two separate elections. As at 7:00 am eleven out of 31 elected members of the Assembly sat and elected Abubakar Suleiman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) representing Ningi Central Constituency as the Speaker of the House.
Danlami Kawule a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) representing Zungur/Galambi was also elected as the Deputy Speaker by the same group of lawmakers.
The eleven members reportedly locked out the remaining members from gaining entrance into the Chambers and held the inaugural sitting during which the two presiding officers were elected.
The situation got worse when 18 members of House held a parallel election in front of the Assembly complex around 11:00 am after been declined entrance into the complex.
The members stood in front of the statue of the Mace symbol and elected Kawuwa Damina as the Speaker of the House.
Damina is a former Speaker in the 8th house of Assembly and a member of the APC. He was returned in the parallel election through a voice vote.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here